Bongani brings RVK fashion to Malawi

Bongani Tambo - RVK Founder

Bongani Tambo – RVK Founder

By Harold Kapindu

Many have talked much on youngsters becoming entrepreneurs as opposed to sitting idle waiting to get employed. Bongani Tambo has taken a risk in venturing into fashion business.

Founder and owner of Retro Vintage Kolektion (RVK) Fashion week, Bongani, a South African based Malawian has finally brought his brand home.

“I was born in Malawi and then I decided to relocate to south Africa,where I
transformed myself into a vintage icon. Growing up with my grandparents Mr and Mrs Mambo in Mtakataka at the age of 5, I started to admire the suits and what my grandfather used to wear (suits) and that
fashion grew in me,” explained Bongani.

RVK is a brand that uses vintage clothes from the old fashion sense.

Bongani and some South African models

Bongani and some South African models

“Being a young man, I couldn’t get a chance to showcase my designs in some big fashion events so I started my own. So far I have attracted the attention of big media houses like Botswana TV, SABC 1 & 2, eTV, Africa Magic, Swaziland TV, Namibia TV and most African media houses,” he disclosed.

To date, RVK fashion week showcases designers from Australia,Ghana,USA,Swaziland,Namibia,Mozambique,Tanzania,Malawi,Nigeria and many more.

One SA models working with Bongani

One SA models working with Bongani

The Fashion icon who is currently in the country further explained: “As am visiting Malawi I would like to start the same thing here and bring all these designers and media houses from other countries in Malawi. That will attract other media houses and other countries to know moreabout our country. As they say home is best.”

Bongani is also an Ambassador for Mercedes Benz Africa Fashion Festival said he decided to start his own fashion event with the aim of helping other young talented designers across.

He has a Retro Vintage Kolektion stall in Pretoria and currently married to Esnarth Nkosi,a South African but half Malawian, who is doing law at South Africa magistrate court.

“According to my experience, in other countries I have seen that governments and other big companies do believe in the youth and their ideas and also the youth have an impact to the growth of the country, tourism or financial side” he noted.

The RVK fashion week founder further advised fellow youths saying, never say you can’t do it; today’s life is about breaking boundaries. Take risks.

Follow Bongani and RVK Fashion on the following social media platforms:
Facebook: www.Facebook.com/bonganitambo/
Instagram:@retrovintagekolektion
Facebook Page :www.Facebook.com/retrovintagekolektion
www.rvkfashionweek.com
Twitter: @retrovintage2

Leave a Reply

