Malawi’s Monalisa nominated for Canadian Awards, Releases Video

Featured image

Lilongwe, 9 October: Malawian born Monalisa Ndovie popularly known as MonaSinging, has been nominated for a Canadian Award in the Best Female Artist Category slated for 12 October, 2014.

The artist confirmed the news through an e-mail which she sent to this reporter on 7 October, 2014.

“I am pretty excited because I knew this year would be my year. I opened up for Davido, I also got nominated for a Canadian award recently which will take place on the 12th of October. All this means to me is that hard work pays off”, she said.

MonaSinging, who has just shot a music video for her first single “Walking Away” which was produced by Excess, Said she is excited for 2015 after looking at what she has achieved this year.

“Walking Away” is her debut single off her upcoming project which will feature various artists both international and local.

Born in 1991 in Lilongwe Malawi, MonaSinging was raised in Lansing, Michigan U.S.A but currently lives in Alberta, Canada.

“I have been singing since age seven. Music is a passion, I adored music since I heard it, and I want to share mine with the world,” she explained.

MonaSinging has been performing for seven years on and off. However has just started recording professionally in 2012.

“I have just got a Management Team, so a lot of new things ahead. I am working on an EP, to showcase to major record labels. There is a list of record labels I am eyeing and would sign to if the opportunity comes along. I am targeting Mavins, Def Jam and Atlantic Records,” she said.

MonaSinging said she is picky of who she targets because she believes she is a trophy.

“Whoever gets hands on me will be winning,” she boasted.

Her passion for music comes from many genres of music but she takes a big interest in R&B with inspiration from Brandy, India Arie, Aaliyah, Etta James, Vivian green and Beyonce’ Knowles.

Watch her video here http://t.co/Liaxm9A2tT

Leave a Reply

